kirstyevidence

Musings on research, international development and other stuff

Guest post for Africa on the Blog

Leave a comment

This is my cat sitting in a basket. The basket is from Malawi... so I figured its sort of tangentially linked to the theme of this post...

This is my cat sitting in a basket. The basket is from Malawi, which is of course in Africa… so I figured its sort of tangentially linked to the theme of this post…

I was really delighted a couple of weeks ago to be invited by Ida Horner, editor of the wonderful Africa on the Blog, to contribute a guest post. My only instructions were to write something related to Africa and so I decided to take the opportunity to do a little bit of research into the perceptions towards Africa amongst my European friends and family. The finished article is here – hope you like it.But don’t just look at my piece – I strongly recommend you stop a while and check out some of the great writing on that site. For a start I would recommend their end of 2012 list of African gold medalists – a really inspiring and surprising list. And for balance you may wish to check out the rather less uplifting sin bin list.

A few other of my favourites from the last year are:

Why does adversity fail to reveal African genius by David Mpanga

Homosexuality in Malawi – how objective is the local media? by Jimmy Kainja

Africa rising into the mainstream – is this what we want? by Ossob Mohamud

What American’s can learn from Africans by ???

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply (go on, you know you want to...)

